Mr. Roger Simpson, Director of Bands

(803) 476-3229

Mr. Roger Simpson, Director of Bands

(803) 476-3229

Mr. Simpson is a graduate of Charleston Southern University where he received a Bachelor of Arts Degree, Magna Cum Laude, in Music Education with a minor in Secondary Education. Mr. Simpson was the recipient of the Horton School of Music’s Senior Excellence Award, presented to the university’s most outstanding music major. While at Charleston Southern, he performed with all of the university’s instrumental ensembles and served as the Drum Major of the Marching BUCS.

Prior to his arrival at Irmo, Mr. Simpson served as the Director of Bands at Barnwell High School and Hartsville High School where he was Teacher of the Year in 2010. His ensembles have earned Superior Ratings in Concert, Marching, and Jazz Events at the state and regional levels. At Barnwell High School, Mr. Simpson created the first Jazz Band in known school history. Under his direction, the Hartsville High School Red Regime Marching Band won the SCBDA 3A Lower State Marching Band Championship in 2009 and represented the state of South Carolina at the 2011 National Memorial Day Parade in Washington, DC.

Mr. Simpson was a member of the World-Finalist GLASSMEN Drum and Bugle Corps and was twice awarded the GLASSMEN’s Distinguished Service Award, one of the corps highest honors.

In 2011, Mr. Simpson was honored by the South Carolina Music Educators Association as the SCMEA Outstanding Young Music Educator of the Year.

In his free time, Mr. Simpson enjoys kayaking and traveling with his wife, Jeanette, and their two dogs, Belle and Bailey.

Band Staff

Robert GiovanelliDirector of Percussion
IHS Assistant Director
Lori TurnerIMS Director of Bands
IHS Assistant Director
Trevlin EvansColor Guard Coordinator
Jonathon MillsapVisual Coordinator

Sectional Staff

JaRon Brown
Kaley DeGroff
Katelen Dusek
Tyrell James
Asia Jones
Alex Sabari
Joseph Spearman
Sally Wright

Band Camp Staff

Christian Folk
Yoshi Mosley
Kadeem Sabarit

Booster Club Board

Donna CirielloPresident
Christa SheldonVice President
Amye KeyVice President
Fund Raising
Julie GordonTreasurer
Tonetta KillensSecretary
Website design by Fablegraph